Sun, Sand and Tri

TriWife alert! Watching the recently concluded Ironman 70.3 in Cebu last Aug 3, 2014 was so much fun. Manila has been stormy and gloomy for weeks and the bright, sunny weather in Cebu was certainly a welcome change.

As usual, I didn’t make it to the starting line. I missed the swim AND bike leg altogether. The run course goes past my hotel (How convenient is that?!), so all I really had to do was to charge my iPhone, put on some clothes and literally take one step out the door! It was great seeing Tony and all the old and new friends we’ve made through this sport. As if to make up for my absence earlier in the race, I cheered everyone on as ferociously as I could, hoping to help get them through the most gruelling part of the competition. I tried to take many photos. Really, I did. But given my “stellar” photography skills, most of them ended up in the trash bin.

It was also Kate’s last weekend before the start of the new school year, and this was a great way to say goodbye to the summer break. Coupled with the festive vibe of the entire event, this was one of our best vacations ever.

Enjoying the beautiful weather.

Enjoying the beautiful weather.

Pre-race relaxation.

Pre-race relaxation

IM 70.3 Cebu 2014 It's off centre, but this is the only decent photo I managed to take of Tony.

IM 70.3 Cebu 2014
It’s off centre, but this is the only decent photo I managed to take of Tony.

2 thoughts on “Sun, Sand and Tri

Leave a Reply

