To Speak Or Not To Speak

(Day 7 Writing Assignment: Focus today’s post on the contrast between two things.)

Some people are highly extroverted that they go through the day with more than just a handful to say about everything. Others are not exactly introverted, but do not see the necessity to verbally express their thoughts all the time. I guess they’re just content listening to others, quietly amusing themselves with some free entertainment.

I have never had a problem articulating what’s on my mind, sharing my thoughts and insights about anything under the sun. I actually enjoy a good conversation, as it also serves as an outlet to put my random ideas in perspective. Ironically, it has also gotten me into some petty trouble simply because I said too much.

One day, for a lack of anything better to do, I tried a little experiment on myself. I resolved that in the next time I am in the company of other people, whether friends, family or co-workers, I will just let my mind do the talking while my mouth remained shut. Inasmuch as I wanted to share an idea or two, which normally is the prerequisite to a friendly argument among friends, I was simply going to keep my thoughts to myself. I wanted to see if I would find some amusement in seeing how other people interacted about a specific topic without joining in the discussion. I struggled. I held my tongue and I ended up being short tempered, impatient and walked around like a time bomb. I felt like I was going to explode.

My friends thought I was feeling sick that day because I wasn’t saying much, until I told them of my little exercise. They all burst out laughing and told me it wouldn’t be me if I didn’t speak out. Turns out that I was their free entertainment.

Leave a Reply

