Succinct As Can Be

(Day 5 Writing Assignment: You discover a letter on a path that affects you deeply. Write about this encounter. Be as succinct as possible.)

She gave me her word that it would just be a short vacation. She needed to see her parents. “Two weeks at most,” she assured me. I held on to that promise. Half a month had passed and there was still no sign of her. It was unusual, but I had faith, so I waited.

Six weeks had flown by when a letter addressed to me arrived from overseas. The handwriting was familiar. I knew it was from her. But from abroad? Her parents lived in the countryside not too far from the city. It couldn’t be. I thought that there must have been some mistake, but I was too excited to finally hear from her. I didn’t want to think more into it. I opened the letter. I just wanted to know when she would return so everything would be just the way it was.il_340x270.574480921_me8o

All else was a blur after that. Perhaps the tears that filled my eyes made it so. I don’t really remember what she wrote, because I was too young when all this happened. What I didn’t forget was being choked by a myriad of emotions. I felt sad, betrayed, abandoned, hurt and alone. I couldn’t process my feelings because I didn’t know how. I just wanted the pain to go away.

That was over 30 years ago. How I wish I had known back then what I know now. I would have probably replied by telling her to shove her letter up her you-know-where. And that, ladies and gentlemen, is my version of “succinct.”

2 thoughts on “Succinct As Can Be

Leave a Reply

