Happy Campers

I’ve been noticing some splashing on the small water feature in our garden for a while. I thought it was just a frog (or two) staying cool in this scorching summer heat. I don’t mind if little animals take refuge among the garden plants (I draw the line on garden animals ONLY. Rodents having a field day in my ceiling is another story ūüėź).

I don’t have a green thumb. I just try my best to keep my plants alive with water. As I was doing my version of¬†“gardening” one day, I noticed a little bunch of twigs affixed securely in between the branches of one of my eugenia trees.¬†Looking¬†closer, I saw two itty-bitty beaks wide open , moving like they were desperately gasping for air, or perhaps trying to call out to Momma to help save them from this overly excited intruder with a garden hose on one¬†hand while¬†making all these snappy¬†sounds with a¬†bizarre-looking¬†gizmo¬†in another.¬†Having lived in the city all my life, I have not had¬†the luxury of seeing nature unfold in front of me before. I’ve never climbed a tree nor milked a cow. I have never seen or been this close to a real bird’s nest. ¬†It turns out that the splashing was part of our water feature being used as¬†a bird bath. I was just so thrilled to have happy campers in my garden!

Happy Campers

photo.PNGAfter my rude defilement of their privacy, I decided to observe the birds from a safe distance from then on. ¬†I felt like I had house guests and¬†I wanted to make them feel¬†welcome.¬†My family joined me in finding out which breed of birds has been¬†camping out in our tree so we can “accommodate” them the best way we can. Thanks to Google, we learned that our “guests” are called Yellow-vented Bulbul (this made me chuckle). Several days later we noticed more activity in our garden. Their melodious chirping that was such a pleasant sound to wake up to every morning, was getting louder. Momma and Papa birds took turns foraging for food numerous times in a day. When the time came and the chicks were old enough to start learning to take off in flight, they would travel¬†dangerously low as their wings have not developed enough strength to take them higher. Like any young child who has learned¬†something new, there was no stopping them from trying their newfound skills¬†again and again. These youngsters were just all around¬†our garden floor, taking short low-level flights over and over everywhere. The parent birds flew after their babies with food just like how a toddler would rather run and play than sit down for a meal. It was all such a delight to see.

This only lasted for a couple of weeks. Now our guests have bid us goodbye.  The youngsters are old enough to be on their own and their parents have left as well. My eugenia tree still holds the abandoned nest they built, but we are hopeful that our visitors will return in the next breeding season.  According to Google, these types of birds are known to reuse their lairs with some repairs or build new ones nearby.

Empty Nest

Empty Nest

In the meantime, I was amused to find a new tenant sitting cozily in the nest until its original dwellers return (we hope) next time.¬†We’ll be waiting!

Hello Sleepyhead!

Hello Sleepyhead!

 

One thought on “Happy Campers

Leave a Reply

